Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Drawing the body w/ Clothes and sketching. Question

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Jones

Jones

Drawing the body w/ Clothes and sketching. Question Empty
PostSubject: Drawing the body w/ Clothes and sketching. Question   Drawing the body w/ Clothes and sketching. Question I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 24, 2012 6:17 pm

Was doing some referenced drawing and started mentally asking questions and wondering. So who else better to ask then you peeps?

When drawing a figure that is going to be clothed do you guys do a rough sketch of the character under the clothes beforehand? Anything in particular you guys try and make sure to do?

I was drawing a sasuke and realized that it'd be a good idea to do a sketch or draw lines for limbs and stuff first, so that you can get positioning and proportions better. Specially since Im not too experienced.

Edit: I am doing traditional drawing btw

Last edited by Jones on Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Creativename

Creativename

PostSubject: Re: Drawing the body w/ Clothes and sketching. Question   Drawing the body w/ Clothes and sketching. Question I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 24, 2012 10:21 pm

That's a good question.

I guess if you're trying to draw from a reference, I'd advise starting with the important, strong shapes and weights, and tak all the clothings' details on top of that. I would expect the strong shapes to come from the the model's body, by default. But you could learn so many different methods for emphasizing or ignoring clothes, that I'm sort of ignorant about clothes in realistic drawings.

If you're drawing stylish clothes, then I suggest that you should be willing to change the wearer's anatomy.